Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Masking with allergies
Masking with allergies
I’ve been using an Airsense machine for about 8 years. I usually get the best sleep results (below10) with a nasal mask, but as my allergies get worse I’ve had to go with a full face mask.  I’ve readjusted the humidity, hose temp and ramp-up time; however, my ahi jumped to 16 or 17. I’ve even tried the low-profile full face masks with no luck.  I have quite a wait before I can get another sleep study, so I was wondering if anyone out there has had the same issue, or knows of a full face mask that might be as effective and as comfortable as a nasal mask.  Thanks!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Masking with allergies
cjde341;
I don't have any severe allergies ..
Is Your full face mask having severe leaks??
Other threads I have read say machines can't calcuate accurate
AHI's with severe leaks ..
I have had good luck with a Resmed F-20 airfit full face mask ..
I haven't used one but a Resmed F-30 might be something You 
can research ..
I know mask fit is a individual thing .. Some DME's have exchange
programs so people can try different masks to find a best fit ..

I hope this helps ..
Steve
Post Reply Post Reply
A few of the suppliers on the Supplier's List here have a money-back trial period for their masks.  I think Supplier #1 does.  The Resmed F20 and F30 have already been mentioned.  I have had good success with the F & P Vitera.
Download OSCAR
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Files

Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies. 

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.  
Post Reply Post Reply
It does.  Thanks!