Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] New User Concern/Question
Question 
New User Concern/Question
Hello.  I am a brand new CPAP user.  I got my nasal mask on Wednesday.  I am a mouth breather therefore, the nasal mask did not work at all.  I got a ResMed AirFit F20 full face mask on Friday.  I have used it 2 nights.  Friday went better than last night.  This mask has the new QuietAir Diffuser Vent.  This means nothing to me.  I am still learning the terminology.  On my nasal mask, air came out like a vent.  I was told this lets the Carbon Dioxide out.  My new mask has no air flowing out as a vent.  I understand this has more holes making the use quieter.  My concern is the carbon dioxide.  How is it getting out?  Both nights, I had heart palpitations and my heart just felt weird.  Like it wasn't beating correctly.  I also had a headache after using it a while.  I completely understand this will take a while to get used to sleeping with this mask on.  I was awake 4 hours after I put it on last night.  I finally took it off because the heart palpitations were making me scared.  Is this normal?  Are you supposed to be able to feel air "vent" out from the F20 mask?  I'm calling Apria where I got the equipment from tomorrow but it's just an office.  Yes the girl was a respiratory therapist but I did not feel like I was getting the in depth instructions I should have been.  The insurance company made me do the sleep study at home.  I thought that was ridiculous but that is what I had to do.  Everything I read talks about doing the sleep study at a lab and having them fit you and try different settings to make sure everything is right.  That was not my situation at all.  Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you!
Post Reply Post Reply