Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Respironics Dreamstation heater turns off after 6 hours
Respironics Dreamstation heater turns off after 6 hours
I have been using a CPAP machine for 8 years. I got the Respironics Dreamstation CPAP machine about a year ago when my first machine aged out. The heater plate on the Dreamstation does not stay on all night! It's staying on for about 6 hours every night, after which the air gets dry and cold, my mouth dries out, and I wake up. I have called everywhere, talked to everyone, read everything I can find and have gotten exactly no help. Is this what it is designed to do? Does yours do this? Can I change it? I have been through every menu on the machine and nothing I can find addresses this problem. There is always a small amount of water in the tank, so it's not turning off due to lack of water (if that even happens...) Any suggestions?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Respironics Dreamstation heater turns off after 6 hours
Welcome!

I've run my Dreamstation tank dry more than a few times.  I can confirm that it continues to heat and I awake to the lovely smell of hot plastic.  So it is not a low level of water.  I can't think of any setting that might cause this.  It sounds like your machine is defective in some way.  I'd ask for a warranty replacement.
Post Reply Post Reply
If you got your machine from your provider, try to get them to replace it under warranty. It shouldn’t be a big deal.

If you purchased it yourself or received it as a hand me down, replacement DreamStation humidifiers are relatively inexpensive at around $100 US.
Geoffrey Rush as Philip Henslowe, (Shakespeare in Love) "I don't know. It's a mystery."
Post Reply Post Reply