Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] What is wrong?
What is wrong?
Hi,

I've been using CPAP for about 5 yrs. My sleep has deteriorated over the last few months, waking up multiple times and struggling to fall back to sleep. 
If I take the mask off,  I can sleep deeply. 
If I need to take a deep breath, I feel that the machine doesn't give me the air that I need, but in general terms, I don't feel suffocated, and I'm OK using the device.

AHI is not bad (1.0x), but it seems that it has increased in the last year or so. It is not about the numbers; I'm more tired during the day than I used to be. 

Looking at my OSCAR data, do you suggest any setting changes?

Device Settings (for about two years)
  Mode: APAP (Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset)
  Pressure Min 4.00 cmH2O
  Pressure Max 7.00 cmH2O
  EPR Full Time
  EPR Level 1 cm H2O
  Mask Nasal (DreamWhisper)
+ Chinstrap

Thanks in advance!

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: What is wrong?
Welcome to the forum.

While your numbers all look good your description does not. Your description describes pretty classic feeling of air starvation. The pressures you are using specifically the min of 4 is considered by many to be a pediatric pressure.

Try a min of 6 and set EPR =2. And see how that goes. Set your max to 10, I doubt your pressure will go there.

I suspect you may need a min of 7 and possibly a EPR of 3. But we will see.
Post Reply Post Reply
You are hitting your max pressure of 7 quite a bit, so it may simply be that now, being five years older, you need a higher pressure. You also have a lot of flow limitations that might be addressed with a higher EPR. Maybe raise EPR to 2, set min pressure to 6, max pressure to 10, and see what happens.