Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Complete novice seeking advice on suspected Apnea
Question 
Complete novice seeking advice on suspected Apnea
Hi all,
I have been a heavy snorer for years and every now and then, particularly over the last year or so, I've woken up gasping for air. I had always had a thought that I might have Apnea, but because it wasn't effecting me on a daily basis I continued to leave it. I'm 37 now and this seems to be happening more than before.

Living in Milan, I've been in lockdown since end of February and I've become much more acutely aware of any health issues I have due to an increased level of anxiety and some hypochondria. However it has also led me to being a lot more attentive to my sleep quality and what happens at night. I went through a couple of nights where I was waking up very short of breath and I decided to buy a blood oxygen monitoring ring.

The first two nights I wore it, I had several large drops to around 88-90% saturation and some smaller drops to low 90s. The ring wakes me each time by vibrating, so I can interrupt this and go back to sleep again breathing more normally.

I have coincidentally just started an intermittent fasting regime and am doing frequent exercise and actually, since these initial drops, I have noted that for a couple of days I had only one drop and I think this was when I moved more onto my back (I now always sleep on my side to try to avoid breathing issues). But again in the last couple of days I've had a return of more drops (although far less than initially). Last night I had one significant drop to around 90% and some small drops to 94-95%. It seems somewhat inconsistent. I think weight loss is certainly helping, but perhaps not to a point where it can stop these drops.