Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Diagnosis] Anxious newbie - Central apnea ?
Anxious newbie - Central apnea ?
Hey there,

First of all, I must say I'm really grateful to have found a board just like this one. 

I am quite new to this, altough I've read a lot about sleep apnea over the last two weeks, following my first sleep study. 

I am now waiting to see a pneumologist but I already received the (i guess raw) reports of the two sleep studies I have made (one with an ApneaLink device and one with a NoxT3 device). And those reports make me really anxious and concerned. 

First report shows an AHI of 18 (A3/H15) and ODI of 26 and important snoring. Second report shows an AHI of 29.6 (A3/H26.6) and ODI of 30.4. 

Second report included RIP belts reading as well as position recording, and it seems like most of my apneas are central and strongly positional (2.9 central apneas per hour on my side, 11.7 on my back, 0.4 obstructive apneas per hour on my side, 2 on my back). Hypopneas are more on the obstructive side (even though most of the 26.6 apneas are unclassified, the reading only shows 3.6 obstructive and 1 central hypopnea per hour. Reading the report I guess the rest is just RERAs ) 

I am a 29 yo male, with severe obesity (BMI 40, going down :-)), septal deviation, probable retrognathy and probable enlarged adenoids (got to get a more thorough examination on those). I thought I was the perfect candidate for obstructive apnea and I was able to wrap my head around a temporary CPAP therapy for a few years, until I get the root causes fixed. Now the perspective of having central apneas is terrifying me as it seems to be definitive in the current state of science.