Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Diagnosis] Frustrated
Frustrated
I have been using c-pap, bi-pap for over 5 years and have never been able to achieve the goal of AHI of 5 or under. I started using nasal pillow mask, and other than short term trials with full face masks have used only the pillows for 4 or 5 years. I have always suffered with nasal stuffiness which affects me whenever I lay down. I was starting to achieve limited success a year ago) (consistently under 10 for several months). In order to continue efforts toward goal of 5 AHI my doctor suggested switching from my Phillips System One, to my current machine AirCurve 10, with full face mask. This change was made because my doctor discovered that I could breathe through my mouth with the nasal pillow and the full face mask would correct this. The AirCurve 10 also is supposed to automatically adjust pressure as needed. This change to date has not been successful. My AHI has consistently been over 10 since this change. Two issues confuse me. First my doctor insists that in order to reduce my stuffiness problem I should keep my humidifier on max; others (including some on this forum) state lower humidifier settings will help with stuffiness. I tend to agree with the others. Secondly, I believe because of my ability to breathe through my mouth while wearing the nasal pillow the AirCurve 10 machine does not see the air intake though my mouth and interprets this as an CA apnea event. This seems to be supported by the fact that my doctor always discounts the CA events and considers only the OA events. For the past few weeks I have not been able to keep the full face mask on more than 4 or 5 hours per night because of the stuffiness. Last night I became frustrated and switched back to the nasal pillow. I did