Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Do we really need to clean this stuff?
Do we really need to clean this stuff?
I'm new to CPAP (about a month) and these cleaning instructions seem silly to me. I wash my cushion every day because it clearly picks up face oils and gets direct exposure to my breath and potentially saliva.  However, I was also instructed to (1) wash the house weekly (2) wash the humidifier tray daily (3) wash the coarse filter weekly.  I use distilled water in the humidifier but never wash it and it's still pristine. I've never cleaned the hose and have a hard time seeing why I would. Nothing actually gets dirty except the mask. I also have a powerful air purifier always running in that room so there is very little dust around.

Have any of you really had anything grow in your tube or humidifier (assuming distilled water use)? Do CPAPs really make people sick? I'm open to cleaning more often, it just seems silly based on what I see here and I don't like wasting time.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Do we really need to clean this stuff?
I've become slightly more lax in regards to cleaning my CPAP equipment since having started therapy in Sept. of 2018. 

I use regular tap water in the humidifier, instead of distilled water. I started out using distilled water, but gave it up after a few months. The humidifier gets emptied and then wiped dry each & every morning. It's left open and allowed to air dry for a few hours. I do use some white vinegar in it from time to time as well.

My mask / cushion gets a good wipe down with Clorox anti-bacterial wipes about every other night. The hose and it's quiet elbow gets soaked in Dawn dish soap and hot water once a week. I do have a hose brush and it gets used occasionally.