Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

EPAP (expel pressure) help!
EPAP (expel pressure) help!
Hi - I'm new to auto BPAP therapy and just received my machine 3 days ago.  I've read and read and read (analyst at heart), but am having a problem trying to get a direct answer to the question of which Auto BPAP machine is the best for Mild to Moderate COPD patient with some issues I'm having. I'm trying to compare the DreamStation Auto BiPAP (DSX700T11C which I have now) vs the ResMed Air Curve 10.  So far, the main issue I'm having is 3 fold - 

1.  I have some sinus drainage and dry mouth normally, so I often need to consciously clear my throat/nose and swallow during the night.  I do this weird thing where I take a *tiny* pause/inhale while clearing my throat before I swallow.  On the DreamStation Auto BiPAP (w/ heated humidity - DSX 700T11C), I've noted several times when I do this, it's initiating an "inhale" series where it goes up to 9 (instead of staying on 4) possibly bc it's sensing I'm taking in the tiniest bit of air?  While I only slept 20-30 mins in titration study due to not being able to handle CPAP, when they finally switched me over to BiPAP at 3:45am, I seemed to breath and it wasn't trying to force air while I swallowed.  This was on a ResMed testing machine (assume and AirCurve).  Does have to do with the algorithms of C-Flex (DS) vs Easy Breath (RM) features of the 2 machines?  Any advice on the difference in the 2 machines and my issue is greatly appreciated!