Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] AutoCPAP w/o insurance - How to let doc have remote access?
AutoCPAP w/o insurance - How to let doc have remote access?
Hi!

I'm new to the board. It appears to be a really useful place for sleep apnea patients to exchange ideas.

I was a respiratory therapist in the early 70s and used CPAP on premies in a NICU . Familiar with principles, though technology has obviously changed a great deal.

Last Spring I had an at-home sleep study done locally which showed extremely severe OSA, then had a bad experience with a DME supplier. I was astonished at how little they knew. They got pressures wrong , set me up with wrong type and size of mask, and then were unbelievably slow in correcting these issues. On top of that, the "rent" they charged under the insurance agreement was almost $300 per month with a minimum of 10 months before patient could exercise option to purchase! I could see a premium price being charged for equipment of this type if (and only if) the DME rep was capable and responsive. But 4-5 times the price? For getting the settings wrong and slow response?

I gave the device back to them, went to another doctor that wasn't affiliated with the local DME. Sleep study done at Johns Hopkins showed much less severe OSA with far less desaturation and far fewer events (which made more sense in light of how few symptoms I have -- no snoring at all with no headaches or fatigue).

Got back in touch with insurance. They sent me to another local DME. The rep there said the sleep disorder clinic at Johns Hopkins "got the order all wrong" and confirmed that I would have to rent the device for 10 months before I could buy it.