Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Help Picking First Machine
Help Picking First Machine
Hello!

I have an appointment Monday afternnon to get set up with my first machine since being diagnosed. Thanks to all the info here I feel like I am going into this pretty informed. Definitely know a lot more than I did a few weeks ago. I think I have my choices narrowed down to 2 machines but I am hoping to get a little additional input and reassurance.

First, some pertinent details about me from my sleep study and how this came about. I am a linehaul driver for a large LTL carrier. I don't live the stereotypical truck driver life as I go for a 8 or so hour trip, get put up in a motel, then make the return trip home the next day after the required DOT rest. Nevertheless, I got forced into having a sleep study as part of a routine physical. Turns out in my case they were right I guess because I was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea as a result of that study. My AHI came back at 76.5, so I guess I was quite the over-achiever even. 

The more detailed results of my study were as follow: I spent 388 minutes in bed and splept 256 of those minutes with the lowest sleep efficiency being 66%. My sleep latency was 14.9 minutes with a REM latency of 294 minutes. My overall sleep showed increased stage I and II sleep, absent of slow wave and reduced REM sleep. I had a split night study and during the diagnostic portion I spent 204 minutes in bed and slept for 120 minutes with a sleep efficiency of 59%. During that portion I had one central and no mixed apneas, 41 obstructive apneas and 111 hypopneas. REM sleep was not seen during the diagnostic portionand my supine AHI was 62. My avg. oxygen saturation was 92% with a low of 82% and 20 minutes spent below 90%.