Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Humidification problem
Humidification problem
I have been using cpap since 2003 with great success. Initially my AHI i was 6, I purchased my own cpap and life was good. I spent a lot of time in 2017-2018 trying to get a new cpap, finally dozing off while driving and a minor car accident helped me get my wish. My AHI had increased to 15 and I was welcomed into the land of DMEs, free stuff and sleep drs.

Initially, I was sleeping in a very cold room and blamed the humidification problems on the room. I moved to a new place and still have problems, such as nasal swelling, dryness, bleeding.  In 2002 I had a pesticide exposure developed anaphylaxis an incurable sinus infection leading to surgery. I also developed moderate asthma. I live in a state where the pesticide is restricted, that is the only allergy I have tested positive for and do not have chronic sinus issues.

At level 3 humidification I have bleeding and humidifier uses very little water.
At level 4 I have nasal issues because the humidifier runs out of water.

I had noticed the connector doesn't have a tight fit and the machine makes noises when my pressure is higher later at night and that is when I run out of water. I've been taping the connector which stopped the noises but not the humidificaiton problem. Sleep doc orders new hose. DME leaves me a message that it is normal to hear air coming from mask and cancels order.

New roommate steals things including my pseudoephedrine. I developed a nasty sinus infection which triggered asthma. I missed an entire week of work and now wake myself in middle of night to refill humidifier.