Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Mask Flow Rate Question
Mask Flow Rate Question
Does anyone know how the mask manufacturers decide how much air to purposely vent out their masks?  I am not talkng about mask leaks.  In a former life I worked as an engineer and can kind of see how this would be tricky.  Too little venting and you suffocate or cause a mask leak or too much and you make your masks noisy and cause the motor to work harder to maintan high pressure settings.

There has been a lot of duscussion on the ResMed Quiet Air elbow and whether that change started causing user problems and whether the sound dampening collar they added was being contaminated.  I started using the Quiet Air elbow unknowingly about four months ago.  I only noticed that it was different when I couldn't feel the air exiting.  Resmed announced the change publicly over a year ago but it appears they are touting the fact that it is quieter.  Canuckguy posted photos of the old elbow and the Quiet Air elbow with the diffuser removed.  It's pretty obvious that the old standard elbow had larger holes.

I would like to find a full face mask with the higher vent rate, beacuase I think the new quiet air elbow is causing problems.  Last night I went back to an old Ultra Mirage mask with silicone seals and the adjustable forehead bar.  It is now obsolete but it has a healthy flow that I can feel and hear.  I thought I found the flow settings for the mask in the F20 written manual.  They had a specifications page with a presssure comparison between the "standard" elbow and the Qiuiet Air elbow.  They were different but after looking up the units (dBa) I think they were only talking about sound levels.