Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Mask Leak
Mask Leak
Hello:

I am new to CPAP and Sleep Apnea boards, but would like some help. On December 14, 2018 I received my AirCurve 10 ASV Device # 575 from the American Lake VA, Located outside of Tacoma Washington. I received 2 different styles of mask one was the Mirage Quattro Full Face Mask and the other I can not remember, but was unable to use either of them.

Since then I have tried many different types and styles of mask, all the way from what I call a snorkel to the one I am using now the Medium Simplus Full Face Mask. I have also tried the Amara View Minimal Contact Full Face Mask from Philips Respironics. My problem is every mask I have tried to use has defaulted to Mask Leak.

Mask leak is my sworn enemy. I have tried every size of mask out their to no avail. I am a side sleeper, and within about 15 minutes of laying down, my machine starts acting up and when I look it tells me I have a mask leak. This has been going on for about 5 months. My sleeping time can be anywhere from 10 minutes a night to 2 hours, never any longer and most night much shorter than 2 hours. Every mask that I have tried makes me feel as if I am drowning, and not able to breath. I believe it has to do with each mask being placed over my mouth and nose, which I just can not stand.

Does any one know of a mask that just fits over a persons mouth, and does not have any air vent to the nose like the Amara View does. I need a mask that fits only over the mouth, since I am a mouth Breather and unable to breath through my nose.