Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
#1
Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
I've gotten treatment for sleep apnea via a Telemed doctor. The doctor makes remote adjustments to my machine which is connected to wifi.
I am planning to terminate my service with this company (and possibly do a credit card chargeback). I'd like to be certain that they do not make further adjustments to my machine after this. How can I change something to make certain they do not have access to my machine (ResMed AirCurve 10) while still keeping it connected to Myair.com so I can monitor my AHI?
Thanks in advance.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
The wireless connection used by MyAir is the same that they use for monitoring and adjustment. You will have to decide which is more important to you, using MyAir or keeping them out of your device.
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
The Guide to Understanding OSCAR
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
Maybe you could give the request not to adjust PAP remotely in writing. Revoke the access permission. Just say you'd rather have it manually adjusted.
Dave

OSCAR
Standard OSCAR Chart Order
Mask Primer
Dealing With A DME
Soft Cervical Collar Wiki
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
Ok, that's what I thought.  Thanks for the response.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
You can disconnect the modem, ask me how. The data you should be using to optimize and track therapy is the free OSCAR program. See Oscar link in this post and at the top of this page. Much more detailed and useful than MyAir.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
Ok, I'll definitely look into the Oscar program.  So, how do I disconnect my machine from the router (without disabling all other internet in my house)?  Thanks.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
Your machine is not on your router. The Resmed CPAPs use an internal mode to transmit data by cellular services to Resmed. Resmed makes the data available to providers and doctors using AirView software, and minimal data to users on MyAir. To stop transmitting data you can just remove the 4-wire cable from the modem chip on the mainboard, or remove the whole model which is the board on the left side of the machine. Here is a video showing disassembly http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...em-Removal
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
If you want a temporary disconnect, turn on Airplane. But it will remind you frequently as I remember. More permanent, there's YouTube directions that includes opening the PAP case and disconnecting the modem wires. It's not damaging and is reversible if desired.

BTW if this modem is CDMA based it'll be unable to connect soon as its frequency is repurposed.
Dave

OSCAR
Standard OSCAR Chart Order
Mask Primer
Dealing With A DME
Soft Cervical Collar Wiki
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
(03-19-2021, 03:56 PM)SarcasticDave94 Wrote: BTW if this modem is CDMA based it'll be unable to connect soon as its frequency is repurposed.

It's LTE with fallback to 3G/2G. LTE Bands 2,4,5, and 12. Link below is to the specs for the device that's in the Airsense 10. Nothing for sale at that link.... I put another post up that has the internal pics of the machine.
https://www.thalesgroup.com/en/markets/d.../els61-usa
Post Reply Post Reply
#10
RE: Telemed Dr. has access to my machine. How can I change this?
As others have said.
IMHO tell them in writing to not make remote adjustments. If adjustments are needed to inform you and you will arrange to have them manually made.

If they persist you can disconnect the modem, but it is a cellular service and is not connected to WiFi.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 205 197,724 6 hours ago
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  Improvement, but what else should I change? mruwu69 2 132 09-16-2021, 03:04 AM
Last Post: Ratchick
  Understanding sinus issues and change in flow rates?? mruwu69 4 257 09-11-2021, 10:08 PM
Last Post: LordEthan2
  Doctor data access for compliance verification? NelsonM 8 301 09-01-2021, 11:25 AM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  How to change the Patient stored in my CPAP Mrand 4 166 08-20-2021, 02:18 PM
Last Post: Mrand
  Flow waveform change before OA SakimaStorm 2 147 08-19-2021, 01:23 PM
Last Post: SakimaStorm
  Sleeping less; change from DS1 to ResMed bosskyroyale 24 677 08-14-2021, 08:52 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.