Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] USING WINTERGREEN ALCOHOL FOR CLEANING/FRAGRANCE
USING WINTERGREEN ALCOHOL FOR CLEANING/FRAGRANCE
After using wintergreen alcohol cleaning mask and water chamber I liked the fresh wintergreen smell. I have been adding a small amount to cpap wipes or just leaving the wipe used for cleaning in the water chamber with no water. I have been doing this with good results for several months. I read that some forms of alcohol can be toxic to breathe. So, I have stopped using the wintergreen alcohol for now. I have also used pure wintergreen oil on a wipe in the chamber at times. Comments welcome.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: USING WINTERGREEN ALCOHOL FOR CLEANING/FRAGRANCE
I believe the recommended procedure for aromatherapy is to use an aroma-laden cotton ball placed near the air intake -- never in the water chamber or on the filter. However, there are those, including doctors, who recommend against aromatherapy and those that swear by it. I am not sure about putting hydrocarbons or fragrance fragments in one's lungs. But, then again, people smoke and accept the risk.

Here is an interesting study that reports positive benefits -- A systematic review of the effect of inhaled essential oils on sleep -- https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK246974/ There are a number of other studies if you Google "PubMed aromatherapy sleep" without the quotes.

A systematic review of the effect of inhaled essential oils on sleep
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24720812/
"The object in life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." -- Marcus Aurelius
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: USING WINTERGREEN ALCOHOL FOR CLEANING/FRAGRANCE