Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Feature Request] Flow Rate graph to Audio File?
[Feature Request] Flow Rate graph to Audio File?
Hi all. Thanks for the great work on OSCAR.

After going over many flow rate graphs, I had the idea that being able to HEAR what the graph is showing (even if the audio is computer generated) would make it a lot easier to interpret/compare to your actual experience of sleeping that night.

I'm no developer so I don't know how complicated or easy this would be, but I feel like it would be a valuable feature for anyone who isn't a sleep analysis expert.

Example use case:

I know what my breathing sounds like when I'm awake, but it would be nice to also be able from oscar to hear what it sounds like when I'm asleep. It would help me identify where I'm actually asleep/waking up on the flow rate chart without having to memorize patterns and zoom to incredibly close intervals to tell them apart. Or it would help me understand what the body is doing when I see a big spike upwards/downwards in flow rate, and see if I can remember doing that in the night.

etc

Thoughs?
Post Reply Post Reply
Cool 
RE: [Feature Request] Flow Rate graph to Audio File?
One way to get that would be to use the flow data as an envelope to modulate the volume level of a pseudo-breathing sound (eg pink noise). That could be done in code but (as I only just now discovered), it is more easily/accessibly achievable via the free audio editing app Audacity.

I tried it first using a generated sine wave (1 Hz) modulating a generated pink-noise signal.
However, to achieve your goal...

The rough steps are:
* From your CPAP / OSCAR / flow data app, export the relevant data (eg as CSV)