Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

First Night Success!
Smile 
First Night Success!
Hi everyone - newbie here.

I was recently diagnosed with severe sleep apnea (33.6 AHI - bleh) and was rapidly prescribed a shiny new AirSense 10. I chose the F30 hybrid mask, and got the fancy heated tubing. Last night was my first night with the machine, and while it was a mixed experience, I'd say overall it was a success.

I turn 35 this year, but have always had crippling fatigue, depression and ADHD-like symptoms since I was quite young. I developed crippling inflammation and chronic pain at 16, and had liver scarring and lesions imaged when I was about 20 during an unrelated CT scan for abdominal issues. The cause of the lesions was thrown into the mystery basket by my doctors, and I was told that elevated liver enzymes was probably caused by stress and was nothing to worry about because I'm young and don't drink or take much in the way of medications, OTC or otherwise. I just sort of resigned myself to 'this is how life is' and trudged on through the days.

However, the last couple of years, I came to realise that something was very wrong. I was unable to concentrate. I was getting chest pains, tingling in my extremities, migraines that lasted for a week or more, and my blood pressure was through the roof. I work out three times a week and live a reasonably healthy life, so it was quite alarming to have my blood pressure taken at 180/74. A fit 35 year old man should not have BP like that.