Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

For anyone who is thinking of giving up on CPAP because of the nuisance......
For anyone who is thinking of giving up on CPAP because of the nuisance......
Background: I was diagnosed with sleep apnea just a couple of months ago and I've been on CPAP since then. I was a bit of a scientist in my youth so I have spent some time trying to understand all this apnea and oxygen stuff, and I carefully study the charts in OSCAR and SleepHQ every morning - trying to see how all the parameters interact with each other and relate to the sleep stages measured by my Apple watch.

As we all know, one of the reasons that apneas and hypopneas are bad for us (though there are others, which I will ignore for now) is that they can cause the oxygen level in our blood to fall to unhealthy or even dangerous levels. The CPAP machines typically don't give us any information about oxygen, and even the smart watches that do are apparently not very reliable, so I decided to buy a continuous pulse oximeter (an excellent 'Wellvue SleepU').

I've only had it a couple of days, but the detailed overnight data from it is so far showing that there are no signs of oxygen drop around the (occasional) apnea and hypopnea events recorded on my 'ResMed Airsense 10'. My 'blood-oxygen saturation percentage' is typically 95-98% (which is 'good'), with very occasional brief drops below 95% - the lowest reading being 93% (considered 'low' but not 'dangerous') for just a few seconds.