Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How long did it take for you to feel better on CPAP?
How long did it take for you to feel better on CPAP?
Hi Everyone,

I’m new to CPAP and new to the forum, but it seems I’m not new to OSA and sleep deprivation - so I don’t know what to expect in terms of how and when I will feel better.

Could you give me an indication of how your first few weeks/months of CPAP went, when you started to feel better, and what it took to feel better/OK/normal (all very subjective, I know!)

For context:
I am a 57 year old woman, diagnosed with OSA (no CA) just 3 weeks ago.
Issued with a ResMes Airsense 10 Autoset 8 days ago.
Already on my second mask (2nd one is a ResMes F20) because the first (a Simplus) hooted like a badly fitting window in a gale.
May have had OSA for decades (I’m hypermobile) and I’ve been sleep deprived for so long that I can’t remember anything else.
AHI averaged 91.7/hr during my test.

So far, CPAP has changed my sleep wonderfully - deeper and longer (5 to 7 hours of quality sleep according to my apple watch, 100% mask compliance, with O2 levels of 93-95% through the night, and just 2-4 AHIs/hour, no leaks and no mask removals in my sleep.  Too scared of not breathing if I take it off)
But i seem to be getting MORE tired, more zombified and more forgetful.
Is this an ‘adjusting to CPAP’ thing?
Or is it my body grabbing the opportunity to actually rest and recover?
Any idea how long til this zombie stage passes?  I need to get back to work asap, but at the moment i have the attention span of a gnat, and the stamina of a newborn kitten.

Oh, and I’m sorry, havent worked out the OSCAR download and use.  Will it even work on a tablet, or does it need a laptop or PC?

Thanks in advance!

Pebble
Post Reply Post Reply