Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How to reduce AHI index?
How to reduce AHI index?
Hi! I'm new to the world of OSA.
My AHI index without CPAP is 16-32 depending of sleep position (16 side position, 32 supine position).

I am 61 and I started using CPAP machine from 5 days; I'm using a Philips DreamStation Auto CPAP with Amara View Mask.
I tryed to sets the APAP machine in CPAP-Check mode with a fixed pressure of 9 cm H2O (pressure value identified during my in-lab sleep study), but I obtained a quite bad result with an AHI of 7.41.

Then, I switched the machine to Auto CPAP mode trying sevaral combination of pressure range but with no AHI index improvement. 
My currently AHI index (with APAP machine) is between 7.5 and 10.
The mask fit value I read on the display of DreamStation is always 100%.

I'm changing the therapy settings day by day in order to reach a good AHI index, but I had no success.
Surfing on internet I found this forum so I decided to ask for help to you.

The following are the data of the first 5 days of therapy:
17/08 - Auto CPAP, pressure 4-20 cm H2O, AHI 7.70

18/08 - CPAP-Check, fixed pressure 9 cm H2O, AHI 7.41

19/08 - Auto CPAP, pressure 6-14 cm H2O, AHI 10.44

20/08 - Auto CPAP, pressure 6-14 cm H2O, AHI 9.59

21/08 - Auto CPAP, pressure 8-12 cm H2O, AHI 7.92

Can I do something to reduce the AHI index? 
What about the Flex settings?
I used AFlex = 3 during the first 4 days; last night I changed to CFlex = 1.
Can the Flex impact on the AHI index?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: How to reduce AHI index?