Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

In Need of Noobie Education
Grin 
In Need of Noobie Education
Yet another noob here needing education and advice!! To give you some background, here is an excerpt from my sleep study.  "This was a markedly abnormal study with 388 obstructive apneas lasting as long as 51 seconds, 265 central apneas, 45 mixed apneas, 76 obstructive hypopneas, yielding an apnea/hypopnea index of 98.2, respiratory disturbance index of 104.  Sleep disordered breathing was associated with severe sleep fragmentation with arousal index of 39 and frequent desaturations below 80% with 5 minutes below 70%."  Oh-jeez Now you know why I'm The Outllier.  I just don't fit anyone's bell curve in this, or any other part of my life!!

I just got my bipap 2 weeks ago, so I realize it's early to make a call on success/failure of treatment, but my AHI is bouncing all over from a low of 1.87 to a high of 36.02.  That 1.87 was the ONLY observance under 5.  My prescription is 14/9 ST with a backup of 10.

For the instances where my AHI is more than desirable, there is only one culprit according to Sleepyhead: hypopneas.  All my events are hypopneas with the exception of a sprinkling of Unclassified Apneas.  In looking at my leak rate I'm sure those are due to mouth breathing. I practice mouth taping with a vertical strip of tape but even on bipap, I get so air hungry, I breathe through the little corners of my mouth to get air despite the tape.  Sometimes I forego the tape and I get leaks as a result.  In any case, many nights show 100% hypopneas.