Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Interrupted sleep: RERA and Flow limitation
Interrupted sleep: RERA and Flow limitation
I have been using Phillips Respironics Dreamstation since Sep 2022.
My therapy maintains low AHI (<3) but I feel tired and exhausted after waking up. I guess it is because of the flow limitation (between 0 and 1.7 but in most nights higher than 0.2) and RERA (reaches up to 1.33 on some nights). I attached one night charts which may help.

I looked at Flow Limitation Statistics and RERA and have some questions for the experienced members.

1) How do RERA and FL relate?
2) What is the acceptable RERA number before optimizing therapy, if any?
3) How do FL and RERA affect sleep if the oxygen level is maintained high? Higher than 92% and mostly between 95% and 98% (sing O2 Ring).
4) I am thinking of shifting to Resend Airesence 10. Do Airsense 10 report RERA and FL? or I will be looking for them eyeballing the charts?
5) Finally, are there any indicators other than AHI, FL, and RERA to look at to improve sleep quality?

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply

Donate to Apnea Board  
RE: Interrupted sleep: RERA and Flow limitation
RERAs are a flow limitation in the upper airway that is not significant enough to be classified as a hypopnea and are identified by waxing & waning of breathing. It looks like your pressure range is pretty tight and typically RERAs are solved with more minimum pressure. Have you considered 11cmH20-15cmH20 to give your CPAP more room to solve these events or is there a reason your range is so small?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Interrupted sleep: RERA and Flow limitation
To answer question #4; the Resmed airsense10 autoset reports RERA and flow limitations.
Download OSCAR

Organize Charts
Attaching Charts