Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Linux, OSCAR, on a Dell Latitude E6510
Linux, OSCAR, on a Dell Latitude E6510
I'm running Windows 7 on a Dell Latitude E6510 and if it goes to sleep or hibernates or in any way shuts off the screen, it's a royal pain getting it to come back on. I usually have to force a shut down and then hope the screen comes back on when I re-start.

I want to install Linux on this machine and use it to run OSCAR. Can anyone recommend a distro? I just want something simple as I have very little experience with Linux.
Sleepster

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Linux, OSCAR, on a Dell Latitude E6510
It depends on the power of the machine. CPU ? Amount of RAM ?
From France. English spoken. Equipped since end of 2009. ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset since November 2023.
Linux user since 2009 --> current main distribution : Xubuntu 22.04 (laptop)
LUG (named ALDIL) Member since 2015. certifications : ITIL© and ISTQB©

Post Reply Post Reply
First, being Win7, you can go to the Control Panel ⇾ Power Options and turn off the Sleep and Hibernate.  Now about Linux; There are more distros of Linux than there are CPAP mask styles.  Look here for a review of the distros: https://distrowatch.com/.  Personally, I prefer Linux Mint. It is a variation of Ubuntu.  

Since you're coming from a Windows platform, the 5 closest to a Windows OS are:
  1. Linux Lite
  2. Zorin OS (No relation to the James Bond villain that I know of Big Grin)