Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Looking to reduce leaks/optimize results
Looking to reduce leaks/optimize results
I've been using Cpap for a few years but I've been having some trouble with it recently. I've lost a decent amount of weight (25ish pounds) and cut way back on alcohol consumption (went from 10-12 drinks per day to about that many or less per week). I've also started having a lot more large leak duration, waking up with my mouth completely dry and my lips stuck to my teeth which is obnoxious. Chin straps don't help, I'm not really opening my mouth but just slightly puffing out my lips which breaks the seal and starts the air flow out. 

I was thinking that maybe the reduced weight/alcohol means that I don't need as high of a pressure. On nights when I do consume alcohol, I have almost no leaks. My plan was to start dropping the pressure by one notch every night until the leaks stopped but I'm not 100% sure that this is the best idea so after a couple of days I decided to post here and see if anyone else had any ideas. 

I feel like I'm sleeping decently well but not as well as I could be and I would really like to optimize my machine to get the best sleep possible. My doctor referred me to get another sleep study because of the weight loss/alcohol reduction but my insurance denied it so hopefully someone here can help me.

I can provide whatever OSCAR data would be the most helpful, but for now I'll just post two representative examples, last night where I had about 5 drinks and Wednesday with 0 drinks. Thanks in advance.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Looking to reduce leaks/optimize results