Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Mandibular Advancement Devices - is your mouth supposed to be closed ?
RE: Mandibular Advancement Devices - is your mouth supposed to be closed ?
I've been using a MAD device successfully for over 7 years.  The device was slowly adjusted to give effective treatment at first.  I adjust it based on how my symptoms are being mitigated.  The device hasn't made my jaw joint sore that i remember but i have had a few times when my teeth are slightly sore after a large increase in treatment.  My mouth stays mostly closed but i do have times of excessive saliva production.

my history::  A sleep study indicated my AHI was 10 or higher and my O2 charting showed marked declines which sync'd with the times i knew i was waking up.  I did try CPAP early on but couldn't tolerate it.  I use a TAP3 custom fit device I got from my dentist.  We tried a less expensive, lighter built, option but my clenching habit cracked the device after a couple weeks.

The MAD works for me due to the nature of the apnea.  I knew from paying attention when i was rousting up at night that my jaw and tongue were sliding back and causing obstruction and lots of snoring.  My sleep habit complicates the situation as I hook a finger over my chin and pull it down which ensures obstruction.  Whenever my MAD is in the shop (a few days every few years so far) i can tell a big difference in how i feel those days.  I've tracked my O2 levels with and without the device and the difference is marked.

PS:  The CPAP listed in my profile is what my wife uses which is why i'm here.. but maybe my MAD experience is helpful.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Barefooter64, may i ask how did you check your O2 with your MAD & without MAD.  Did you use a a pulse oximeter?  Thanks.