Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

My CPAP lowered pressure and AHI increased- why?
My CPAP lowered pressure and AHI increased- why?
Hi there,
I have been using my CPAP for a little over six months now, am a able to say I got used to it and mostly manage it well. 
Ever since I started using, and with the help of a strict diet, I lost weight, not too much, but enough for now (around 5 KG). 
Either because of that, or maybe because I got used to sleeping with the machine, and due to airophasia, I lowered my original high-end pressure from 10 to 9.5, and have been sleeping this way for at least three months now. My AHI were great (between 2-3, sometimes less than 2 even), and all was well. 
Then, for a reason I don’t know, three nights ago, the CPAP lowered the average high-end pressure to 8.5, and my AHI spunk to around 5... any idea why the machine should do that? Needless to say I didn’t change anything in the setting and pressure range is still the same as it was - 4-9.5 cmH2O. 
Would appreciate your insight on that, and if anyone can also explain the mechanism by which the CPAP works, aka chooses the top pressure level nightly, would be happy to hear. 
Many many thanks and good day to all,
Naama.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: My CPAP lowered pressure and AHI increased- why?
Just as a clarification: the pressure range is still programmed the same - still 4-9.5, only the 90% measure (indicating which pressure has been used for 90% of the night), says 8.5... 

Why didn't the machine use it's maximum pressure of 9.5 to decrease the AHI below 5??
Would appreciate you help here..
Could it be that something is wrong with the machine? Should I contact my provider?
Thanks!
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Naama,