Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New Member with Questions
New Member with Questions
Hi everyone. I'm brand new to the Apnea Board and I'm in need of some advice and answers. I've been a CPAP user for about a decade and I currently use a PR DreamStation BiPAP. Unfortunately, after 3 years of use, the unit died last night. I called the DME that supplied the unit at the direction of my sleep doctor.
I was told that I had to get another prescription from a doctor or insurance would not pay for a new one.

Can you folks help me get answers to the following questions?:

1. The first thing the DME rep said was "I don't have any compliance data on you." Why would you, I asked. No answer. I told her that the machine doesn't have a modem anymore since I took it off because I don't feel the need to share data on my sleep habits with anyone except who I choose and it's never been a problem before when they call me up about supplies. They always ask questions about how many days and hours I use the machine and I answer. This has always been sufficient for them to send me supplies and the insurance has always paid for it.
A.  The first question is: Is it normal that a DME would set up the CPAP machine to send the compliance data to them?
B. If yes, how is that not a HIPPA violation? They're are not my doctor.
C. If no, who is that cellular modem calling and who is getting that data?

2. The prescription:
A. Isn't the prescription good for life or until I choose to get another sleep study or have a discussion with my doctor to have the prescription changed?
B. If the prescription doesn't expire, why would the DME require a new prescription because the machine broke?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New Member with Questions