Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New to CPAP, dx'd OSA, lots of clear airway events
Question 
New to CPAP, dx'd OSA, lots of clear airway events
Hello everyone!

I'm new to CPAP, have had my machine for just under a month. I had an in-lab sleep study done in summer 2019, dx'd moderate OSA. My AHI was 17.4, with a total of 46 obstructive apneas, 1 mixed apnea, 1 central apnea, and 61 hypopneas. It was originally supposed to be a split-night study, but I couldn't fall asleep fast enough, only the PSG was done.

In the time I've had my machine, my numbers have been much worse than what was seen during my sleep study. I've also had a much higher number of clear airway events rather than obstructive apneas. I had a ResMed AirFit N30i nasal mask until March 29th, and due to having a lot of issues with the mask leaking/mouth breathing, I got a ResMed F30 full face mask instead... and my AHI has gone up with the full face mask with the vast majority of the apneas being clear airway. I'm attaching the overview so you can see the trends as well as a couple of nights with the full face mask. I have played around with minimum pressures and EPR, and nothing really seems to make a difference except I feel more comfortable with a minimum pressure above 8 and EPR off.

I know that for a significant number of people, central apneas emerge upon initiation of CPAP therapy and often resolve on their own. However, my AHI remains very high- typically between 50 and 100 most nights- and while I feel terrible without the machine, I think I might feel even worse when I use it!

ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset/APAP mode
Current settings:
Min Pressure 8.8
Max Pressure 20
Ramp Off
EPR turned off a couple of days ago with no major change in stats.