Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie, What does Air Sense Usage mean?
Newbie, What does Air Sense Usage mean?
I am a newbie to CPAPs.  I have been using my Airsense 10 Auto for about 2 weeks. I have a question about the Usage shown on the screen. I assumed this would be the time from when the unit is turned on for the night until it is turned off in the morning.

However, I find that it is sometimes off by a couple of hours. For example I would go to sleep at 11:00 PM and wake up at 7 AM. I would expect to see 8 hours of usage, but I see 5:47.
Is the CPAP calculating the amount of time I am actually sleeping? What is usage?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newbie, What does Air Sense Usage mean?
Welcom to the forum,

The first question is any breaks? Breaks don't count for time used.

Also suggest that you organize OSCAr charts per the Organize link in my signature and post your dailies.
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome, Bob, and congratulations on starting therapy for apnea! And to one of your questions, the machine does not have any way to detect whether you are asleep or not.
Post Reply Post Reply
Usage is on time with someone/something breathing into the mask.
Post Reply Post Reply
No. There are no breaks.  As soon as can get i Oscar set up, I will post some data.
Thanks for the help. I am glad I found this forum.
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome, I am also a new user and have the same machine. This happened to me a couple of times. I think it has something to do with the time cycle. If you go to the MyAir app and look, I’ll bet you find that the extra time was added to yesterday’s sleep hours.  The hours are there, it’s just stored in different days.

I just keep my own sleep journal. It is easier and it is super helpful when I’m trying to troubleshoot! Good luck.