Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie looking for assistance
Newbie looking for assistance
Hi,
I am a newbie at this, so please forgive if I’m not in the right section, and ask too may questions.

I am a 75 year old male who has been using a Resmed Airsense 10 machine for close to two months, starting with the Autoset unit. After using it (trial) for a while, my respiratory therapist said I did not need the auto setting and that a fixed pressure unit would suffice. Since that time, a couple of weeks or so, I have been on the Elite version. For us in Canada, the Autoset is about $360.00 more than the Elite. Although I do not have insurance coverage for any part of this, I would be more than willing to pay the extra, if needed. A sleep study has been recommended, but no date has yet been set.

As to whether I am feeling any benefits, I should first mention that I have been dealing with polymyalgia for the past year, for which I have been taking Prednisone. I have been reducing the dose, (currently 3mg) and believe I see the end. For a long time, I was unable to do much work around the house, which is unusual for me, despite my age. However, I am now able to return to some of the renovations projects, etc, which were impossible a short time ago.
SO – is it because of sleep therapy benefits? Very possibly, but the picture is rather blurred by the polymyalgia.

I use the Oscar software, (which is brilliant) and review the info daily from the SD card, as well as that provided by ResMed.

The median AHI for the past 30 days is 8.41, average hours used 7.25 (data from ResMed).
The best AHI was 2,7, worst around 19.
An original test to determine whether I had a sleep apnea problem returned a reading of 42.