Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Non-obvious way to get a mask to seal
Non-obvious way to get a mask to seal
I was unable to find a mask that would fit my face, so I had my face modified to fit my mask.

Short story:
I recently had a medical procedure called a “facial fat graft”.  This is accomplished by removing fat from my belly and injecting it into my facial cheeks.

Long story and other details:
I have been using a CPAP machine for more than seven years.  Although I have benefited by getting a better quality sleep, one common problem I have had from the very beginning was to get my CPAP mask to seal.  I have tried every kind of mask imaginable, including a custom-made mask that was remade twice and never did work.  The main reason is my pressure requirements are way higher than typical.

My optimal setup became a ResMed Quattro FX full face mask, combined with a CPAP liner and lanolin.  This continued to work pretty much okay until last year after losing about 50 pounds.  Although there were many health benefits to losing weight, one unexpected consequence was that my face became thinner and it was way more challenging than ever to get my mask to seal.  I had the tighten the straps to such an extreme level that my nose became so sore I was unable to use my CPAP machine at all for days at a time.  Using a Respironics LiquiCell Nasal CPAP Cushion helped a little, but not enough to prevent my nose from eventually getting too sore to use the mask.

Unlike the experiences of many others, I saw absolutely no improvement whatsoever to my sleep apnea after losing weight.  The main reason is probably because I have Complex Apnea (i.e. Central Sleep Apnea in addition to Obstructive Sleep Apnea).