Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

O2 drops while awake?
O2 drops while awake?
I have been using APAP (numbers in profile are current) for almost two years, and with the help of everyone here, have gotten things dialed in so that my AHI is consistently below 2.. most days below 1.

I decided to buy an O2Ring just to compare my O2 levels with and without CPAP out of curiosity.  Without CPAP, the ring shows that I have between 10-20 drops of at least 4% each night... but that it never goes below 90% with any of those drops.  Which, I assume is telling me that even without CPAP, my apneas are not very long in duration.

The interesting thing I did find, however, is that WITH CPAP, I am seeing 3-4 drops to low 80's BEFORE I fall asleep.  Once I am asleep, it is above 98% all night, with one or two drops to mid 90's during machine treated apneas.  I have always felt like it takes me a little while to get used to the CPAP when I lie down, and that once asleep I don't even notice it.  But it was very interesting to me that my "getting used to it when in bed" correlates with O2 drops to low 80's a few times.  I felt sure that OSCAR would show clear airway events at these times of drops, since I recall feeling like I nodded off, and waking up realizing I had not been breathing for a few seconds... but OSCAR actually shows obstructive events, and the pressure ramp up, and then the other obstructive events.  The durations of these "nodding off" events are around 38-40 seconds.  Any events after I am sleep never last more than 10-15 seconds and never have O2 drop below 90.  It seems that CPAP is causing me to have these larger drops, and only as I am falling asleep.