Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How does OSCAR decide what day a session belongs to?
How does OSCAR decide what day a session belongs to?
I use OSCAR to look at the data from my AirSense. I'm also a hobbyist programmer working on Python code to read that data. I will never rival OSCAR, but I'm having fun, and my code currently reads EVE and PLD files and draws graphs (thanks to OSCAR and edf2ascii for guiding me along). My question concerns how OSCAR decides what date a session belongs too. I looked at the wiki, but I don't even know where to look for my specific question.

Most days, I go to sleep in the evening and get up in the morning. All these sessions are recorded under the start day even if some sessions are dated the next day. That makes sense for my lifestyle. Sometimes I go to bed late, after midnight, but OSCAR still assigns sessions to the previous date. I suppose it either always assumes I sleep a regular shift, night to morning, or it looked at my data and decided I'm a night-morning sleeper, or something in the ResMed settings data told it (though looking at the str.edf and identification.tgt file didn't help)? 

What date would the sessions be attributed to if I worked shifts? For a midnight to 8AM shift, sleeping 9AM to 5PM would logically count for the same date. On the afternoon shift 4PM to midnight, I would regularly go to sleep past midnight, so would that count towards the previous date or the date the sleep started? My naps could for the date they occur on, and it makes sense. If I slept days and sometimes napped after midnight, would it count for the previous date of the date it occurs on?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: How does OSCAR decide what day a session belongs to?