Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Oxygen levels advice
Oxygen levels advice

.pdf   o2.pdf (Size: 261.12 KB / Downloads: 22) [attachment=52236]

Hi i have been on Cpap therapy for a few months now and wonder if anyone can give me advice on my oxygen levels.

My AHI average over last few months is 1.3 so not to bad but wondering if my oxygen levels are dangerous or bad? they seem to occasionally spike down?

What does having low levels of oxygen when you sleep  do to you, does it damage your brain or heart?

Cannot really see much info online about this.

Thanks

John
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Oxygen levels advice
I have been using oxygen for over 25 years at night.  I have taken reports like this to a pulmonologist and his advice was that the sharp spike is nothing to worry about.  He said it is the probe moving on my finger when I turned over or moved in bed.  
That I needed to look for a drop in oxygen that was sustained for a period of time and not just a spike.
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed  Cervical Collar - Dealing w DME - Chart Organizing
Post Reply Post Reply

.pdf   O2 5282_20230712141735.pdf (Size: 266.67 KB / Downloads: 13)
hi 
i don't think the spikes on mine are the probe moving on my finger, if you look at my report from before i started using cpap the drops were a lot worse?
nobody seems to know what's happening and what damage it could have done,? i spoke to my doctor and he told me he wasn't sure what was up. and i should go to a sleep clinic
I cannot get into a sleep clinic in the UK as there is a long waiting  list till next year.

thanks
Post Reply Post Reply