Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Persistent micro arousals? first few days on ResMed after switch from Philips.
Persistent micro arousals? first few days on ResMed after switch from Philips.
Hi folks! I had been using a PR DS1 for a few months prior to taking a WatchPAT study which came back with a mild apnea result (based on RDI). I was able to use that Rx to rent an Autoset 11, which I have been using for 2 nights now. My flow rate is much improved! I used to have a lot of flow limitations, but now my waves are much smoother. However, I'm still noting a persistent pattern of what appear to be microarousals every 5-12 minutes, pretty much all night long (depending on sleep stage). 

Below are 2 photos of last night's deep breath arousals. I don't remember waking up or noticing these deep breaths, but I see them recur throughout each night at regular intervals (on average, probably every 7-8 mins, which happens to correspond with my RDI).

These also happen often when I'm starting to drift off to sleep, and they wake me up...I'll suddenly be awake and conscious mid-way through the deep exhale. Here is an example of a time that happened when I noticed it (green line marks the deep breath around 2:10. The jagged breathing a few breaths later was me "marking" the event so I could find it easily in OSCAR later). This was a while ago, when I was using the Dreamstation. But I have noticed this happening prior to treatment and it has continued during. 

I have an in-lab PSG scheduled for July, so I'll get some EEG data at that point. But does anyone have any ideas or experience with this? I'm assuming it's screwing with my sleep quality. I have never felt full relief of symptoms since starting CPAP in late January of this year.

Thank you!!
Post Reply Post Reply