Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Product Review] Upgrade/Review: Dreamstation to Dreamstation 2
Upgrade/Review: Dreamstation to Dreamstation 2
My first CPAP device was the original DreamStation, and it served me well for nearly  six years.  It’s not broken, it still works great… but I felt it was time to retire it to backup duty now, rather than later.  When I went shopping for a new device, I had no idea the second generation had recently debuted.  Since I was an early adopter of the original, why not keep the trend going?

I used a F&P Simplus previously, but upgraded to the Vitera alongside the DS2.

My comments are aimed at original DreamStation users who might be considering the upgrade.  I have zero experience with ResMed or other manufacturers.  (When I asked my provider if I should consider a ResMed this time… she said if I was happy with my DS - and I was - that I would be less than happy with ResMed’s algorithms.  They sell both, of course.)

Design and interface:
Pictures make it clear that the unit is more compact than its predecessor.  As another reviewer noted, the darker finish helps it seem less intrusive.

There are only two controls, both on the top surface - the round start/stop button, and the capacitance touchscreen above it.  The button is softly illuminated when not in use, then goes dark within a minute of starting.  It’s surface is concave, making it easy to “feel” for in the dark.

The touchscreen is actually about the same size as the old display, but oriented vertically.  It has a black background with high contrast aqua-green characters.  It seems to use OLED technology, which is far sharper and more readable than the old display… though the lettering IS pretty small.