Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

SD card backup on PC and new SD card
#1
SD card backup on PC and new SD card
I am not very accomplished with the computer tech and I have several questions regarding the SD card and backup, ----so I would appreciate any help members could provide.  This was just covered in a post, but the post seemed to be about Mac and anyway it was marked "solved" so I thought I would start a new one for the PC.  I am guessing there is a different procedure for backup on the PC?

I switched machines recently from an AirSense 10 to an S9.  I couldn't find a new SD card handy, so I used the old one, a blue Resmed labeled one, that I had in the AirSense 10.  I expected that the S9 would reformat the SD card but to my surprise it didn't. When I stuck it in the PC and checked it on "file explorer", it looks like all the files for the AirSense 10 use are still there.  I thought that if you stuck your SD card in second machine, it would reformat it and you would lose all the data you had accumulated when using on your first machine?

When I checked the "properties" of the Resmed SD card it said it had 1.83 gb total.  Are the Resmed SD cards only 2 gb (nominal)?  It appeared that all the data files I had on the SD card was only 50 mb or so.  A 32 gb SD card is clearly overkill but I can't even find small capacity SD cards for sale anymore.

The memory in the Resmed CPAP itself---Does it only go back a year or so before over-writing the data or is it related not to date but to the data capacity of the CPAP?  Perhaps it never over-writes the data?  But if you load the data onto Oscar on your PC, I guess it is protected and never over-written?  Even though the CPAP may over-write some data on its memory perhaps it doesn't over-write the data on the SD card? 

Can you just make a duplicate copy of the SD card on a thumb drive or another SD card?  Will it work with Oscar if you plug in the new SD card or thumb drive.

Can you just copy the SD card files to a newly made back-up directory on your PC?  Will Oscar find that new directory?  Suppose for some reason the original Oscar gets to be corrupted and you have to delete it and then reinstall Oscar --will the new Oscar find the backup directory?

Is it possible to load Oscar itself onto an SD card or a thumb drive and then use it in any PC?  ie will it load automatically or do you have to re-install Oscar onto the new PC?

Could you load Oscar itself onto the same SD card you use to record data on the CPAP itself, so you could use it in any PC?

Any help would be appreciated.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Anyone travel with backup equipment? SkySleep 5 201 07-13-2024, 01:26 AM
Last Post: Rickyricardo
  Power Supply Backup. What do you all have? Little Olive 13 520 07-03-2024, 07:43 PM
Last Post: robbob2112
  ResMed 11 Stopped Recording SD Card Data somewherein413 20 897 06-20-2024, 04:00 PM
Last Post: somewherein413
  AirSense 11 SD card tanker 8 380 06-19-2024, 06:10 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  resmed 10 sd-card size cexer 11 415 06-18-2024, 07:38 PM
Last Post: WallyPepper
  Removing a few Therapy Dates from SD Card MurrayNevada 8 296 06-15-2024, 01:12 PM
Last Post: MurrayNevada
  [Equipment] Question - Airsense 11 - SD Card Corruption Safety Velderes 3 176 06-05-2024, 10:40 AM
Last Post: Narcil


New Posts   Today's Posts


About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.