Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Severe Sleep Apnea
Severe Sleep Apnea
Hi all, newbie here. I'm so grateful to have found this website Thanks  I've been reading posts and trying to go solo with helping my husband with his diagnosis of severe sleep apnea. I've been telling him for years he had it and we finally got him a sleep study (at home). The sleep doctor hasn't been in his office much at all since covid so It's been extremely difficult getting any help.

I finally got him the Respironics dreamstation Auto cpap and last I checked no returns allowed because of covid so I probably really messed up right?

Anyway, that's the backdrop of our story. We got the machine 3 weeks ago and started him on apap at a min of 5 and 20 and he had troubles with the pressure so I turned it down 4 to 20, and his AHI started to get worse so I moved it up to 6 and 20. I also messed with Aflex and Cflex and we put it at Aflex 3 with a humidity of 3.

The first day AHI 17 and then numbers started to go up averaging around AHI of 60 and I was thinking about taking him off of it-- but the first night he used it he felt better than he had in 20 years, so he wanted to keep trying.

The next week we started to see the numbers go down averaging around 20, but of course he is waking up tired and staying that way. Feeling more encouraged I continued researching and we decided to get him some mouth tape (he is a major mouth breather) which we used last night and he felt better today than he has the last 2 weeks... however his numbers went up from 20 to 27. 

So that's where we are at today, after reading posts on here I've turned his aflex down to 1, and turned his humidifier up to 5 for comfort tonight. Other than that will we ever get his numbers down?