Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Symptoms] Nausea?!!
Nausea?!!
Help! I have been using a ResMed S9 Elite for about 2 months. When I was renting a machine it was the auto one. The one that I have now is not. When I first starting using it I woke up in the night several times with bad stomach pains and feeling very nauseous (to the point of ripping of the mask and running to the bathroom in a panic). I did not throw-up though. I notified the place that I am dealing with for my supplies and they contacted my doctor to get a subscription to turn on the EPR. This fixed my problem immediately. The other night we had a bad thunder/lightening storm that caused our power to flicker. My machine stopped and then started again. In the past, the power has gone out for quite some time and then I had to physically turn it on when the power came back on. For the last 3 nights (and feeling sick during the day) I have been waking with the nausea problems again. I looked into the features and it shows that the EPR setting is still on 3. Is it possible that the power outage has caused this to stop working even though it shows it is still on? Any help with this would be very appreciated.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Nausea?!!
Cindy,

Power outages shouldn't reset your machine, but you can never be sure. Just like computers, several machine issues can be corrected by unplugging the power, waiting a minute, then plugging it back in (rebooting). I'm sure your machine uses a microprocessor, so it is a computer, and sometimes they just get confused.

By the way, check aerophagia (sp?), air in the stomach pushed in by CPAP pressure, in the forum wiki. It is a common side effect, particularly early in treatment, and may have something to do with your nausea.

Best of luck.