Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Throat feels like it's closing after starting CPAP
Throat feels like it's closing after starting CPAP
Hi all,

I've been using a mouthguard for the past five years. Recently decided to pick a CPAP up to see if I could get better results.

It's hard for me to fall asleep but once I'm sleeping, I feel like it's deeper. 

During the day I feel a tightening in my throat and feel a little air hungry. Is this a common feeling? Do others experience this?

Best of sleep to you all.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Throat feels like it's closing after starting CPAP
CPAP should not be a factor in your voluntary awake breathing. I'm not aware of this being a documented issue. Positive pressure maintains your airway when you sleep and makes it easier to breathe, so it's not out of the question that you may feel respiration takes more effort as you adapt to using pressure at night. It should go away soon.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
You may just be paying more attention to your daytime breathing, given your nighttime use of CPAP. Another possibility is that your chest muscles are a little sore from exhaling against pressure. Either way, the sensitivity should go away pretty soon on its own.

Glad to hear you're sleeping better!
Post Reply Post Reply