Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] How to adjust from CPAP to VPAP
How to adjust from CPAP to VPAP
My wife was just switched from a CPAP (after four years and new sleep study) to a ResMed S9 VPAP S. Her current pressure was 13# and now it is set for 15-20. She is have a very hard time adjusting to it the pressure seems too great and she has not used it for the first two nights. Today the Dr changed it to 13-17.

Any ideas?
Thanks for any help!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: How to adjust from CPAP to VPAP
I've no experience with the machine but from reading what people say, its not surprising your wife having hard time adjusting
It take some time to adjust and will get better, good thing the doctor is looking after her
Post Reply Post Reply
(11-21-2014, 06:36 PM)ron137 Wrote: My wife was just switched from a CPAP (after four years and new sleep study) to a ResMed S9 VPAP S. Her current pressure was 13# and now it is set for 15-20. She is have a very hard time adjusting to it the pressure seems too great and she has not used it for the first two nights. Today the Dr changed it to 13-17.

Hi ron137, welcome to the forum!

In "15-20" or "13-17" the first number is called EPAP (exhalation pressure).

The second number is called IPAP (inhalation number).

The difference between EPAP and IPAP is known as Pressure Support.

I suggest she return the VPAP S machine and request the doctor to change the prescription to be appropriate for a VPAP Auto machine, by prescribing a range for EPAP. For example:

Min EPAP = 11 (or higher, doctor selected)
Max IPAP = 20
PS = 4 or 5 (doctor selected)