Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] Managing flow limitations
Managing flow limitations
Hi Everyone,

I've been using CPAP for around 3 years now with an untreated AHI of 7.5 and a treated AHI under 1.  Initially I was on pressure 5-15 with EPR=1, but during the pandemic I got tired of waking up a lot and started using OSCAR to adjust my settings.

For the last several months I've been on fixed pressure of 7.6 with EPR=3. I have some nights that are great and others that are spotted with half a dozen RERAs and the occasional Obstructive or Hypopnea.  From the machine reported numbers I should be doing great but I'm still tired and some nights I wake up a lot.  

When I look at OSCAR I see that I have a lot of minor flow limitations off and on throughout the night and usually have a few bursts of high flow limitation.  Maybe this is part of the reason I'm still tired?  Should I try different pressure settings, or is a BiPAP what I need to get more pressure support?

Here's an example of a night where I didn't have a lot of events but still woke up exhausted

Zoomed into some flow limited breathing

Zoomed into a CA

Any ideas? Thank you!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Managing flow limitations
Welcome to the forum,
Yes flow limits do seem to be a problem. I'd consider a range of something like 8-15 and see if that helps. Post an OSCAR and tell us how you feel, a critical summary of fatigue or not, if therapy is helping, etc.

Another thing to do is post a redacted sleep study. You should have a detailed copy anyway in your personal health file. HIPAA law permits your request for a copy to be granted. There might be things revealed there that's not currently addressed.