Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] Would you ever want other treatment options for OSA? Share your story!
Would you ever want other treatment options for OSA? Share your story!
Hi all! I'm a doctor and part of a Stanford team studying OSA focused on coming up with future solutions and treatments that patients would actually want. The more we've studied and dug through the data, the more questions we have. At the end of the day though, you know your body and the effects of sleep apnea better than anyone else so with that in mind I wanted to hear your story and was wondering a few things. 

Since it's so hard and a painful process to get a diagnosis what finally motivated you to seek treatment for OSA and how were you diagnosed? Was there a specific symptom that really impacted your life and did CPAP, an oral appliance or surgery treat it? Also for anyone who can't use CPAP or oral devices what is it about the treatment that doesn't work for you? 

Would you rather have a one-time surgical procedure for your OSA or use something that you wear every night? 

Thanks to anyone willing to share anything about your story and how things are working for you. We're really trying to understand what truly matters to the community instead of letting a group of engineers and doctors make up solutions. 

TL;DR What do you love or hate about your apnea treatment, does it work and what would make you seek a surgical solution?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Would you ever want other treatment options for OSA? Share your story!