Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

High Pressure Support / EPR
High Pressure Support / EPR
I’ve been through a lot of threads talking about PS, and the one thing I’ve noticed in almost all these conversions is the recommendation of 4PS (and usually nothing higher). 

I’m just curious is there a reason why higher numbers like let’s say 7, are not popular / recommended? 

I am kind of new to bilevel and am trying to find a good PS, I’ve noticed a high IPAP works good for me, but I do have trouble with EPAP making it hard to breathe - so in cases like mine, is it worth trying a high PS like 6+?

Also, if anyone does use high PS (~6+), how did you end up at that point and what are the pros and cons you’ve noticed?

Interested to hear your thoughts…
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: High Pressure Support / EPR
Higher PS values are more prone to cause CAs. The object, at least for me, is to monitor your flow rate waveform, and increase the PS until the tops of the form are more rounded as opposed to being flat.

- Red
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply