Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

What I've learned (tips for a new user)
What I've learned (tips for a new user)
I've been using a CPAP for three months and want to give back in some way, since its use has been a dramatic improvement in my life.   I compiled the knowledge I learned through searching through or reading apneaboard, and combine that knowledge with things that I found out myself, so that everything that helped me could be in one place when some random stranger decides to look up search terms I'm using. I realize that the post is very long, so I bolded the major points of each thought for readability purposes. 

1) Even if you aren't a "mouth breather", you still might not be able to use a nasal mask/a nasal mask may not be the best option for you:  I tried using a few different chin straps (I never tightened them to the point that I couldn't open my mouth at all.  It was my preference to be able to open my mouth slightly if the power went out, since I don't have a backup battery) and learning the tongue trick but my tongue would eventually always naturally drop whenever I got completely relaxed, and an air bubble would always pop up.  If I was awake, I'd release air bubble and then close my mouth again.  However, if I was asleep, the air would force my mouth open cause a large leak.  I'm such a heavy sleeper that a mouth leak wouldn't wake me up for long periods of time.  That destroyed the quality of my therapy and my wife's quality of sleep.  I suppose I could've tried taping but that doesn't sound fun to me, as my skin as super sensitive.  I could've also tried a mouth guard or a cervical collar but I decided to try a full face mask before attempting these options and found out that.....