Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Would an ASV be better for me?
Would an ASV be better for me?
Hello sleepers and non sleepers,

This is my first post, although I have been coming to the forum for several months and have read many threads. I have been using an autoset for about 6 months now and I have been feeling better overall than before I started treatment. However, I keep getting 3-6 AHI nights (maybe 3-4 per week) and per the Resmed index it seems mostly central. I wish I could post the charts people on here use, but I have no desktop or laptop and for some reason my Resmed came without an SD Card. I can definitely feel a difference between a 2-3 AHI or less night compared to a "bad" night (all nights are better than before). I feel tired and definitely feel a difference at the office. Sometimes feel the need for a mid evening nap after work which can throw my nights off. From what I have read on the forum it seems insurance won't put you on ASV if you have an average central AHI below 5. But what would the forum members say? Would an ASV help squash those centrals? I ask because I am not dealing with insurance. I had a sleep study done on my own (which showed about 50% centrals from the apneas alone) and was able to get the APAP through a local seller using my foreign passport (it was marked for export, so no RX necessary). I have no heart issues and am generally healthy. Is getting an ASV on my own beneficial to squash those pesky centrals? I have seen similar cases on here who have gone from these numbers to having around 1 or less every night after getting an ASV, but would like the forums opinion.

THANK YOU ALL. This is a great forum with many helpful people.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Would an ASV be better for me?