Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

affects of fluid in eustation tubes and ears affecting AHI
affects of fluid in eustation tubes and ears affecting AHI
I have been using cpap for several years.  My therapy worked well and results averaged about 0.25 AHI for a very long period.  I had covid in February and my therapy results changed.  My AHI climbed to about 0.80 which is still very good.  My question, before and after covid, my eustation tubes and ears have been full of fluid and have been for about three months (did have a sinus infection, but antibiotics cleared the infection).  

I have not been worried about the climb in AHI, but wondering about how my eustation tubes and fluid in my ears effect breathing and AHI.  I have had sinus problems before, however not since starting cpap.  In fact I thought the positive pressure of the machine helped keep everything clear.

Just wondering if there could be a relationship of increased AHI due to sinus conditions?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: affects of fluid in eustation tubes and ears affecting AHI
It's possible that if you have inflammation in the ears it could extend to the throat or affect your breathing. If you have a persistent feeling of fluid in your ears, your doctor may be able to prescribe some relief or rule out a low-level infection.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.