Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

cant control mouth leak
cant control mouth leak
I have been on cpap for 3 months now. I use nasal pillows and mouth tape but I still leak out of the tape a ton. I use the cover roll tape. I am still new to interpreting oscar data so Im not sure if my settings are dialed in well but I have tinkered with them a bit. Ive been on pressure of 10-12 and sleeping with cervical collar for a week now. Still have a lot of leak. I wake up a ton throughout the night and I notice that the tape is intact but my tongue has dropped low so I get the puffy cheeks. Been trying for months now to keep my tongue posture on roof of mouth but I have a narrow pallet and not enough space so I am not sure if i will ever be successful with proper tongue posture during sleep. I will attach my oscar data below and I would appreciate any suggestions on settings that maybe could improve me therapy. Lastly I really would love to stick to nasal pillows but the mouth leak through the tape is so bad I am wondering if a full facemask is my only option, I am just worried the leak will be worse out of the sides of a full face mask and will be noisier. Thanks again for any suggestions! 

Also EPR is set to 3 full time and ramp is off just an FYI

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: cant control mouth leak
I've had the same puffy cheeks you mention -- and so I started using Cover Roll tape. I still get leaks. but not near as bad. But what helped me was to turn down the pressure. BUT, my machine is different than yours, and I'm not familiar with it. I can say I still use Cover Roll tape, but the cheek problem has gone away, and I'm getting good sleep and feeling like a human again. Good luck.