Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Recent increase in Central Apneas and AHI - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Recent increase in Central Apneas and AHI (/Thread-Recent-increase-in-Central-Apneas-and-AHI)

Pages: 1 2

Recent increase in Central Apneas and AHI - Colt45CCG - 05-10-2021

Hello, I'm hoping for some feedback from the experts here.  1) Does anyone have any thoughts on why my central Apneas are way up? 2) Any ideas on how I can improve the treatment?

I've been using my Dreamstation APAP 100% for about 3 years with an average AHI of 1.6 (its been great) with an average of .27 OA, .7 CA and .8H.  

For some reason over the last couple of weeks I have seen a huge increase in central apneas (on the order of 30-50 a night) with very poor sleep, a lot of wakeups, etc.  I'm seeing AHI all over the place 1-9, I'm waking up constantly, I'm dead tired, its almost worse than it was before treatment...

I have lost about 10 lbs this year, but it seems odd that it would culminate so suddenly last month and then fluctuate between great nights and poor nights.  I cant think of anything that would be causing this variance in my daily routine.

I have a sleep consult & study scheduled for late June, but hoping you may have some ideas or tips for the interim.

I've included two samples:  4 May = great sleep night and 8 May = bad sleep night.

Good Sleep Night
[attachment=32151]

Bad Sleep Night
[attachment=32152]

Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.  I've already learned so much from this board, I had no idea there was a community like this!!

--Colt

RE: Recent increase in Central Apneas and AHI - Gideon - 05-10-2021

Welcome to the forum.